Facility Classification

Classification of a water or wastewater facility provides an indication of the degree of knowledge and training that is required of an operator of that facility. The EOCP classifies facilities in BC and Yukon in accordance with pertinent regulations, and the Best Practices guide established by the Canadian Water and Wastewater Operator Certification Committee in conjunction with the Association of Boards of Certification.

Facility classifications include small water systems, small wastewater systems, water distribution and treatment systems (Levels I to IV), wastewater collection and treatment systems (Levels I to IV), and industrial wastewater treatment systems (Levels I to IV).

 Please contact the EOCP office for details

The EOCP has recently updated its classification models which will be available online before the end of 2017.

If you wish to have the following facilities (re)classified, please contact the EOCP office.

  • Water Treatment
  • Water Distribution
  • Wastewater Treatment
  • Wastewater Collection

For classification of Small Wastewater Systems that serve under 500 people please continue to use the Small Wastewater System Classification Form.

For classification of Small Water Systems that serve under 500 people please continue to use the Small Water System Classification Form

Fees for systems classifications:

  • Small Water Systems, Water Distribution Systems, Water Treatment Systems – $50.00 + GST
  • Wastewater Collection Systems – $50.00 + GST
  • Small Wastewater Treatment Systems – $100.00 + GST
  • Wastewater Treatment Systems – Fee based on flow (see table)

Wastewater Treatment System Classification Fees


Although EOCP tries to assure the accuracy of all information here, you should confirm all information.